Category: 08. Hitting opponent
- What happens if my opponent hits me with the ball that would otherwise have hit the wall and been in? Is it a let?
If your opponent hits you with the ball and it is going directly to the front wall, a stroke is awarded to your opponent (unless he had turned or it was a further attempt).
If he had turned a new rule in 2001 rules awards the stroke to the player hit - yourself in this case. If it is a further attempt a let is allowed. If the shot was going to a another wall on its way to the front wall then a let is allowed provided the shot was going to be good as you indicated it was.
906 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- What if the opponent continually hits the other player?
If a player repeatedly hits his opponent with the ball then the referee should make use of the provisions of rule 17, awarding such penalties are appropriate. If it is deliberate and/or dangerous the player may forfeit points, games, or the entire match.
627 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- What happens if my opponent hits me with the racket after he struk the ball ? Is it a let?
If the opponent hits you with the followthrough after hitting the ball it is regarded as interference by the non striker - in this case yourself. This means that rule 12 applies and the referee can allow a LET if you were making an effort to get out of the way of the swing, a STROKE to your opponent if you were making no effort to get out of the way or your position prevented your opponents reasonable swing, or a LET if youir opponents swing
is regarded as excessive.
Of course interference is the major complication in the game of squash and I suggest you read rule 12 in full.
619 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- I recently refereed a player who was left handed and who swung his shoulders a lot in his swing and follow through. He was an "awkward" player, also quite well built man with broad shoulders. His swing and follow through were consistent throughout.
The swing of the racket in squash is defined in the rules and needs to be carefully considered when refereeing. In the definitions in appendix 2 you will see definitions of "reasonable backswing, follow-through and swing". As a referee you should be familiar with these defintions. An excessive swing occurs when the player uses an "extended" arm to play the ball. Although at the point of impact the arm will be straight, in the backswing and follow-through the arm should be bent at the elbow.If not, it is an excessive swing.
The fact that it is a player's "normal" swing does not matter. The swing definition is independent of a player's history. No, the decision is NOT based on that player's "standard" swing but on the absolute understanding of what is a "reasonable" swing.
What to do about a player with an excessive swing? Well the rules deal with it under interference and dangerous play.
Rule 12.4 A player's excessive swing can contribute to interference for the opponent.
This means excessive swing needs application of rule 12, hence a let is a possible decision.
Also Rule 12.10. No stroke can be awarded to a player who causes interference with an excessive swing.
Rule 12.12 The Referee ....apply an appropriate penalty if 12.12.2 the player endangered the opponent with an excessive
The means it is at the Referee's discretion what penalty is applied.
Excessive swingers are a problem as they add a element of danger. How to stop them or to get them to change is difficult.
565 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- My opponent played a straight drop shot down the right-hand wall. He maintained his position against the side wall, the ball landing just 3 or 4 inches from his feet. I was there, ready to strike, and called let point as the racket would surely have hit o
Your opponent is incorrect. After he had played his shot he is required to move away from the ball. In this instance he needs to step sideways away from the path of the ball. From your description of the incident he made no effort to get out of the way and hence stroke to you. Also he was so much in the way that you were prevented from playing the ball. So again stroke to you. See Guideline G 7.
633 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- If player serves from right court and moves to T and the ball comes off from the back wall right behind the person who is standing on the T and the striker holds his shot back - is it a let or stroke
It is a stroke, unless the striker had turned, in which case it is a let.
596 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- Hi Don, Firstly thanks for the previous response regarding the fairview, sounds like this rule is pretty open to interpretation.
I have another.
If the striker hits the non striker in the backswing of a shot, the striker plays through and hits a clean shot, then calls let immediately. Is there any way that this play could end in just a let and not a stroke if it is accepted that the swing was not excessive.
The striker is not allowed two bites at the cherry.
If his backswing (assumed reasonable and not excessive) connects the
opponent he must immediately stop playing and ask for a let. If he waits
to complete the shot and then asks for a let he should be denied the let
as he played on after the interference. Only if he stops immediately can
he expect a let (or a stroke if the opponent made no attempt to get out of
the way) So the answer to your query is a 'No'.
About the fairview rule - yes there is a degree of interpretation
involved. Difficult to know how to get rid of that without being too
535 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- If the striker hits the oponent by backside swung and continues to play, is the opponent allowed to ask for a let. Becouse he is hitted and canĘt play. So the Q is Who can ask for a let? Thanx.
Only the striker can appeal. The non- striker is not permitted to
appeal. If the non-striker is hit with the striker's racket swing
(backswing or follow-through) he has not cleared and so he is in the
wrong. A stroke could be awarded to the striker.
527 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- If the striker hits the opponent with the racquet in the process of taking the shot, can the opponent appeal for a let?
No - normally only the striker is allowed to appeal. The non-striker has
no right of appeal, unless the striker has an excessive swing. If the
referee considers the swing is excessive a let can be allowed.
508 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- Player1 in back corner of court ready to strike the ball. Receiver1 on T waiting for return. Ball comes cross court and hits receiver1 when player1 had virtually full view of front wall.
How should this be scored. The rules say if the ball hits the receiver1 before the front wall then the player1 scores.
If this is the case then it is open to abuse. How much room should you give before the point can go the other way.
Receiver 1 should only position himself on the T if he is sure he does not
impede the striker's view of the whole front wall. Striker is entitled to play
the ball to any part of the front wall. The receiver must be out of the way. If the
ball is heading directly towards the front wall the rally is awarded to
the striker. If going to a sidewall then a let is played. In both cases
the return must be going to be a "good return" in the that it must have
been going to hit the front wall before bouncing on the floor. If it was
not going to be a "good return", striker loses the rally. Regards Don
542 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- When I have served - I gravitate to the T. Occasionally the service lands close to the middle of the court. My oponent yesterday tells me that my positioning only offers him a clear view of the front wall on his side of the court - and not all of the front wall. The rules for Let calls states that "the player must have freedom to hit any part of the wall". Does that mean as long as he can hit the ball to any part of the wall its ok. Or does it mean he needs to have freedom to hit ALL of the wall. In which case - being anywhere in front of him after the service would be interference. Thanks
This is an example of somewhat loose wording in the Rules: the intention is that the striker must have the freedom to hit the ball to any part of the ENTIRE front wall. If you are in the way of your opponent's shot to any part of the front wall, you lose the rally.
339 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- What happens if the striker hits the opponent with the racquet in the swing process of taking the shot and after that hits the ball because he can not stop the swing ?
The Rules distinguish between a swing that is "prevented" and one that is "affected".
If a swing is prevented (i.e. the striker is prevented from making a "reasonable swing"), the striker wins the rally.
If the swing is affected (i.e. striker's racket lightly touches the opponent, but the swing is still completed), it is a let.
325 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- I understand the rule about turning and hitting the opponent but what happens if the striker has not turned? If the ball hits the back wall and I put myself in position to hit it (without turning) and the opponent is in the way of the ball and the front wall do I call a let or a stroke or if I hit him with the ball is it a stroke or a let?
A player who is in the way of a direct shot to the front wall loses the rally. The fact that the ball hits the back wall is irrelevant.
411 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- In recent T and D club match the referree awarded a point to the striker even though the ball hit the striker coming off the front wall while the ball was still in play. The rational given was that the receiver was out of position and had no way of returning the shot. So the question is...What is the ruling when a player hit's themself while the ball in still in play.....Thanks.....Jim
If you hit yourself with the ball, you lose the rally -- no matter where the opponent is.
394 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- if strikers racquet hits oppenents racquet during any part of the strike what is ruling thank you
If the swing is prevented, it is a stroke.
If the swing is affected (i.e. a light touch that does not prevent the swing), it is a let.
330 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- Hi Don,
In a recent match my opponent hit me with his racquet. He was hitting a backhand from the backhand crt and his shot went cross court to the forehand side. I was in and around the T. I feel I was a safe distance away. At the end of his swing he smashed my elbow with his follow through. I could have gotten the ball but the contact made me pause. Can i ask for a lett here?
If your opponent hits you with a "reasonable swing", you must be standing too close -- and you may not ask for a let.
367 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- Hello Don, If I play a serve from the forehand box, an then move on to the T and the returner chooses not to volley but lets the ball drop and come out from the back wall (ie ball has gone from front wall, on to side wall and then back wall). The returner has moved with the ball and is right behind me. Is this a let or a stroke? There is no 'turning' so that would warrant a stroke as I am in the way and is not attempting to get our of the way. Or is it a let since the returner actually could have made a good return on the volley but choose to play the shot off the back wall instead. I have been told both interpretations. Best Regards, Michael
As the server you must stay out of the way so that the receiver has the entire front wall to hit to. The receiver may hit the shot of his choice -- and if he changes his mind during the flight of the ball, you must still keep clear.
As long as the receiver has not turned, if you are in the way of a shot to the front wall, you lose the rally.
314 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- I have been reading the rules on hitting an opponent with the ball and awarding the point to the striker. How can this be a fair rule? The receiver cannot stand against the wall or in the corner as no point would be competitive. Recently I served from the right and ball bounced off wall and back behind receiver, he turned to his forehand and struck the ball straight at me (in a very vulnerable area)whilst standing in the service box. Where else can I go? How could this not be a point to the server? The whole court is open for a shot against the front wall, I fail to see how this is a let.
Your opponent must be given the freedom to hit the ball to any part of the entire front wall, so it is up to you to hit shots that enable you to get out of the way of a shot to the front wall.
In the scenario you describe, your opponent turned on the ball and then hit it -- and the ball hit you. Your opponent should have stopped and asked for a let. A player who turns on the ball and hits the ball into the opponent loses the rally.
347 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- If I am playing a shot from the bottom righthand corner and my opponent is stood on the T am I still entitled to go cross court even though this would mean there is a possibility that I would hit them on the way past? Thank you.
You have the right to hit the shot of your choice, but you must not hit the ball if there is a chance that you might injure your opponent.
367 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- Hi, what happens when a players follow through on their backhand is so excessive it is dangerous? I recently played a match against an opponent who is renown for her huge follow though on her backhand. Knowing this I wore a full face mask but received a blow across the front of my mask within 2 mins of commencement of the match. During the match I appealed to the ref that her swing and lack of let calls was making the match dangerous and he replied "back of her".
For my own safety this is exactly what I did but felt that some warning should have been given to my opponent for her excessive swing and lack of let calls.
Is it my responsibility to change my game to protect myself or is it her responsiblity to adjust her swing so that she plays in a safe manner?
Is it the refs responsiblitiy to ensure the safety of the players on the court?
Can you tell me what rule/s cover this please.
The Rules state that a swing shall not be "excessive". This is usually taken to mean that the elbow must be bent both on the backswing and on the followthrough. In the scenario that you describe it seems that your opponent kept her arm straight on the backhand followthrough -- which would definitely be considered excessive and dangerous.
It is the Referee's responsibility to warn a player about an excessive swing. However, it is difficult to "retrain" a player during a match -- players swing the way they have always swung. As long as you were not standing too close and were giving your opponent the room to make a normal swing, you did nothing wrong -- and the Referee should have taken action.
205 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- Hi again
same scenario except this time I was reffing.
A player ( up 2/0 at the time)was hit on her arm by her opponent who is well renown for her excessive follow through on her backhand. The hit player took 90 seconds to recover and then continued playing.
During the next game following 2 further close encounters she stopped play on court explained that she had been prviously injured playing squash and was upset from being hit in the previous game and was feeling tearful. she took approx 1 minute to compose herself and continued play.
At the end of the game (2/1) I questioned the Tournament Controller about what to do as the ref and her said if she was unable to continue she should default.
Is this correct/ could you please tell me what should occur and what rules cover this situation please.
Injury time may be claimed only "immediately after the injury occurred."
While one can sympathise with the player who has bad memories about being injured in a previous match, the Rules do not allow extra time to compose oneself: you must either continue play, or concede the game in progress and take the 90-second interval to recover.
108 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?
- If the STRIKER makes a GOOD RETURN (Rule 6) and there is NO INTERFERENCE (Rule 12), does the Striker automatically lose the rally if he catches the ball after it's bounced on the floor?
If Guideline G4 is taken literally it would appear that he would lose the rally because the "Striker has not struck the ball correctly".
The ball is still in play until it has bounced twice on the floor. If you catch the ball after the first bounce, you lose the rally.
175 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you?