World Squash RULES FAQ - Ask Rod
Search The FAQ:
 

FAQ Index
Ask A Question


Categories:
Category: 03. The Service
  1. Is it a fault if the BALL HITS THE TOP LINE surrounding the court on the serve?
  2. When serving I currently have one foot inside the service box and one foot in front of the service box (with my foot not touching the service box line). Is this legal?
  3. If the server serves the ball and it is "not a good serve" does he get chance to take the serve again?
  4. On the serve can the ball hit directly the back wall(or glass) before hitting the ground?
  5. Can I serve like in tennis (racket behind the head, and smash the ball), or do I have to serve with a swing of the racket on my side?
  6. Can you serve from the same box every time?
  7. Is it legal for me to return a service while the ball did not yet touch the floor or the wall?
  8. I'm left handed and I have heard that I can choose which side of the court I wish to serve from, instead of having to serve always from the right. Is this true?
  9. Is a player allowed to take a running serve, provided they are in the box when they actually make contact with the ball?
  10. Must the first serve of every game be made from the right service box?
  11. Is there any rule about where the reciever must stand at the beginning of each serve? Must the receiver stand behind the short line at the beginning of each serve and within his/her quarter court? Is it allowable for the receiver to volley the ball prio
  12. I understand that a service has to land in the rear quarter without touching any lines. In a recent game, I was receiving service and the ball clearly landed plumb on the line. I, as I was in mid stroke ready to return ball, hit the ball back to the front
  13. Perhaps I'm too sensitive, but when playing and marking, I've become aware of many players who persistently foot-fault by stepping to the "T" too quickly during an overhead hard-hit serve (so the trailing foot is already in the air or dragged onto the line). Am I correct in thinking the receiver is entitled to appeal for a "not called foot-fault", either at the time of the service, or even at the end of the rally? Am I correct in thinking the marker (we don't have referee's in our matches) should award a LET if unsure about whether a foot-fault actually occurred?
  14. I was recently frustrated by a referees decision to award a stroke against me after my serve was allowed to pass behind the body of my opponent thus "pinning" me in the service box. I was under the impression that this turning/pass behind tactic could not result in a stroke to the server? It hardly seems fair if it does, as the reciever also had room to hit the ball on the volley. It was his choice on two occasions to allow it pass behind him thus putting me in danger of being struck. I thought a let or no let were the obvious answers. Who is right? Thanks for any advise.
  15. When serving a server moves toward the 'T'. The serve comes off the side and back wall landing in the serving box toward the middle line. The server is now in the way of the shot. Is this a let or stroke situation?
  16. 1)While serving can i hit the side wall first and then hit the front wall? 2)While serving can i hit the first wall and before hitting the ground can it hit the side wall or the back wall?
  17. Having only been playing squash for a year I am learning the rules gradually as i go. In a recent match my opponent was serving such that the easiest way for me to make a return was to let it carem off both the side and back wall, turn and make my shot. At times I would have to ask for a let, as he was in the line of fire, but more times than not I had an easy shot down the opposite side wall for a win that he could not get back to. He complained that by returning his serves in this fashion I was putting him in danger, my thoughts were that if he was not serving in this manner to begin with I would not have to play this shot. (i.e. he could hit a service that I could return in the normal fashion up the same wall). Also at times if I feel he is going to serve short I will cheat toward the front of my service box and play the ball short off the front wall before it hits the side wall. This also causes complaints from my opponent. My question is are there rules (or more importantly, etiquette that stipulate how a serve must be returned). Thanks for your time
  18. When did the rules change so that there was no second service
  19. what rules govern the serve for a player with only one effective arm. Can the serve be made by bouncing the ball on to the floor? Can the serve be made by bouncing the ball up from the racket? Rhanks
  20. Hi, Thanks for your help. I am having an argument with my mate about whether or not the ball is allowed to hit the back wall on a serve before touching the floor. ie, on the full. please tell us if this is legal as we have found rules on the net that seem to support both positive and negative. Or at least do not rule it out all together. The rules on www.squash.org appear not to allow this, am I interpreting them correctly? thanks again, cheers, Mick.
  21. How many seconds are permitted between a rally and next service? When is it considered time-wasting?
  22. Thanks for a great site. As a total novice, I'm a bit unclear of the correct way to serve. Do you hit the ball on volley or does it have to bounce before hitting it?
  23. When receiving serve, I occasionally stand in front of the service line or, on other occasions, move in front of the service line once my opponent has served. On these occasions I invariably play the ball before it reaches the service line and my opponent has queried whether or not this is legal. As far as I am aware it is but could you please clarify.
  24. If the server strikes the ball and it is short of the opposite quarter or under the middle line in the front wall or lands in the servers quarter, does the receiver have the option to choose whether to play the the serve?
  25. Can both feet be in the service box at the serve
  26. can a person receiving a service claim let just because the ball lands on his backhand side and claims that he might hit the server though sufficient space is given for a free swing for hitting the front wall.
  27. Has the rule with regards to serving only scoring changed? Is is correct that if the server loses his/her serve their opponent takes the point?
  28. When the server does not touch the ball with his racket , and the ball just falls on the ground,is this considered to be a faulty serve or can the service be taken again? What if he touches the ball with his hand or body?
  29. Dear Sir: I am hoping for a clarification. Have read 9, 12 and 17 and still unclear.. Scenario. I am receving from the right hand box (I am left handed). Serve bounces from my side wall and off back wall without bouncing. To return I have to turn (180 degrees from my receive position) and thus possibly put the opponent between myself and the front wall. I am told this is an automatic let to ensure that no one gets hurt. Is this the case or can I return at my discretion ensuring that the opponent is not at risk of being hit. james snelling
  30. Hi! My girlfriend and I have been playing squash for a few weeks now... and my question is... is in our squash court... there is no glass... and the back wall is a big wall with a red line accross the half way.. we are not sure where the ball must land on a serve and during a rally... therefore, the question is: WHat are the rules for the line on the back wall? -Kyle
  31. What does it mean that service is to be decided by the "spin of a racket"?
  32. hi, after how many service we have to change our side?
  33. is a squash ball allowed to hit any wall before hitting the floor on the service
  34. Whether the ball is "allowed to pass behind" or the receiver "physically turns" is it ALWAYS a let call? (if a 'good' return could be made, of course) No deliberate actions have been taken by either player. What if the ref says: "...why didn't you play the ball? - No let!"
  35. Why do we need a service line on the front wall? If the ball is served to the front wall and lands in the opposite back quarter, why do we need an extra line to worry about?
  36. Hi great site..When serving from the right hand box I try and serve just right of the imaginary centre vertical line on the back wall..this sometimes results in the serve hitting the side wall BEFORE the receivers back qtr then floor is this ok? Or does the the ball have to be in the receivers qtr before hit the wall?
  37. When returning a serve does the ball have to cross the red line on the floor, as sometimes my oppenant just taps the ball back so it only just touches the back wall?
  38. In a recent match my opponent was very quick in taking the serve, I was not in the correct position and in some cases was making my way from the front of the court with my back to the front wall, are there any rules concerning this?
  39. After serving is the server allowed to move into the opposite quarter court before the opponent has hit the ball. If he is, is the opponent then entitled to be awarded a let just because the server has moved into that quarter but is not interfering with the receiver's shot.
  40. Hi, There are plenty of rules re. a good serve, but was discussing service reception with some mates, and we couldn't agree if there was a rule regarding where the receiver is allowed to stand when receiving a good serve. Is there a rule re where you can stand to receive serve or can you stand anywhere on the court. eg in front of short line / in the server's half court. Hope you can help Thanks Billy
  41. I was in a position in my game this evening where I was receiving the serve. It came off the back wall and the opponent was standing mid court directly in front of me. I hit the ball striking the opponent. The ball was going to make the front wall. The referee called a let saying you can't get a stroke off a serve which i argued profusely being a key point in the match. Should it have been a stroke? Or was the referee correct?
  42. while seving the ball hits the service line, is it afault or a re-serve. please reply thanks deepak
  43. Im getting to love squash. I am new, so i dont even know if this is a dumb question or not. QUESTION: My opponent served, the ball traveled straight to the back corner, between the back wall and the side wall, and it went dead (or it hit both wall and then went dead right after it touched the floor / or it bounced on the floor, hit the side wall, then hit the back wall and then went dead ). It did not bounce high enough of far enough for me to make a return and its impossible to return it without hitting the walls around. We are using double yellow dot Dunlop ball. He serves like this everytime we play, targets that very small corner, knowing that no one cant return his serve. And this is the reason he always wins against us. Does he get a point by that service? Is it even legal? I watch all the professional, they always go for a simple serve.
  44. The rules of the service state: "To serve a player stands with at least part of one foot on the floor within the service box." If my foot straddles the red line around the service box then logically this rule is satisfied (Part of it is touching the floor inside the box), but I have a nagging feeling that you are not allowed to touch the red line. Am I allowed to touch the red line with my 'serving foot'? Thank you.
  45. When a player serve, he miss a ball and it falls on a floor. This is serves let, or lose a point?
  46. Hi, In my game tonight I was serving from the right and moving towards the T after I served. My opponent did not turn when returning the ball, but struck me on the back, we called a let and the serve passed to him. After this happened, he then went on to do this a further two times, and seemingly attempted to do it on purpose on two further occasions. In the end, I stayed further to the right having served, but to me, his deliberate ploy of targeting me affected my usual game and gave him an advantage. What are the rules on this??
  47. Hi I've been using a mobile phone application designed for squash. The question I have is that when the server loses the rally in PSA rules does the winner if the rally always serve from the right even though they received from the left? I only ask this because the application asks them to serve from the right after service changes
  48. Hi! Am I allowed, when serving, to hit the front wall aiming the line that separates my quarter from the receiver's quarter (so no angle)? What i mean is that normally when the right-handed receiver is in the right quarter he expects to play a forehand when I serve. Is it okay if I serve along the central line and force the receiver to play a backhand. I'm aware the risk is for me to get hit by the ball and lose the point. But If I give enough space to the receiver is it okay? A friend said I'm not allowed to serve like that. I serve like a tennis player. Thanks a lot. I'm French and left -handed, I hope you understand what I mean.
  49. An opponent has claimed that when a player is receiving a serve and lets the ball bounce around behind them on the side and then back wall, the ensuing return must be played off a side wall before it hits the front. He told me this was because it stops the ball hitting the server. It sounds a little flimsy to me...I have checked the rules but I would like confirmation please. Many thanks.
  50. Hi, how many times are you alowed to bounce the ball on the floor before serving and are you alowed to use your racket to bounce the ball on the floor before serving? Is there a time limit or bounce limit?
  51. Hi again. thanks for your help on my past questions regarding turning. I am looking for help on returning a specific serve. My buddy makes this blistering line drive style of serve- the ball just hitting above ( or sometimes on ) the red line on the front wall. Without exaggeration, it's probably going 80-100 kmph when it leaves the wall. It comes off the wall at about head height. I don't believe that I can catch it in midair to volley it back to the front. So I wait for the ball to carom off the side wall and then the back wall. I return it by boasting it up to the opposite corner , only rarely being quick enough to drive it straight back to the front wall. First. Is there anything you can offer as advice on how to better return that serve? do you have any videos on returning a line drive sort of serve? I can't find anythign on youtube. thanks. Secondly, I have noticed that the serve is often too low . however, I am not fast enough to watch it hit the wall , call it "out" and still be able to get out of it's way. I can only do one or the other but not both: if it is good and I was watching to see where it hit , then I am not watching the ball come at me. and he won't call it 'out' : he plays all his serves as if they are legal. who is supposed to call a fault on the service: the server or receiver?



  1. Is it a fault if the BALL HITS THE TOP LINE surrounding the court on the serve?
    In squash on the line is "out". So a service hitting the 'out' line is indeed a fault.
    Category: 03. The Service
    701 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  2. When serving I currently have one foot inside the service box and one foot in front of the service box (with my foot not touching the service box line). Is this legal?
    Your service is quite legal. You have to have a part of one foot on the ground within the service box when serving. The other foot can be anywhere you like. This comes in rule 4 of the 2001 rules.
    Category: 03. The Service
    758 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  3. If the server serves the ball and it is "not a good serve" does he get chance to take the serve again?
    In World Singles Squash the server is only allowed ONE serve. If he serves a "not a good serve" he loses the service.
    Category: 03. The Service
    741 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  4. On the serve can the ball hit directly the back wall(or glass) before hitting the ground?
    Yes - the ball on being served can hit the back wall or a sidewall before hitting the floor (ground). Of course it has to hit the front wall first between the service and out lines.
    Category: 03. The Service
    830 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  5. Can I serve like in tennis (racket behind the head, and smash the ball), or do I have to serve with a swing of the racket on my side?
    Yes you can serve like tennis or underarm with the racket at your side. The service rules are at Rule 4 in the 2001 rules. Please read the full rule on the web site.
    Category: 03. The Service
    720 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  6. Can you serve from the same box every time?
    No you cannot serve from the same box every time. If you are serving and win the rally, your next service must be from the alternate box. If you were not serving and just won the service back, you can always start serving from the same box - in fact most players do. See Rule 4.2
    Category: 03. The Service
    466 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  7. Is it legal for me to return a service while the ball did not yet touch the floor or the wall?
    Yes, you can volley a service before it has touched the floor or another wall. It must, of course, have hit the front wall already!
    Category: 03. The Service
    467 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  8. I'm left handed and I have heard that I can choose which side of the court I wish to serve from, instead of having to serve always from the right. Is this true?
    Yes, the server can choose which side of the court to start serving from when he becomes "hand-in". He must alternate sides while serving during each "hand".
    Category: 03. The Service
    388 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  9. Is a player allowed to take a running serve, provided they are in the box when they actually make contact with the ball?
    The rules do not specifically prevent a player taking a running serve. What is specified is that the server must have part of one foot touching the floor within the service box at the time of serving. If this is not the case then the service is a fault. There is no perceived advantage for a server to take a running serve. It could well lead to an inaccurate service.
    Category: 03. The Service
    464 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  10. Must the first serve of every game be made from the right service box?
    No, the server can choose which service box to start each game, or each 'hand' from.
    Category: 03. The Service
    425 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  11. Is there any rule about where the reciever must stand at the beginning of each serve? Must the receiver stand behind the short line at the beginning of each serve and within his/her quarter court? Is it allowable for the receiver to volley the ball prio
    Dear Glenn No the rules do not say much about the receiver and do not specify where he should stand. What matters is that the interference rule applies to the service as well, so that the receiver must be out of the server's swing etc at the time of serving. This means that the receiver can definitely not stand in front of the server. So, other than ensuring he is not interfering with the server as specified in rule 12 for all shots, the rules allow the receiver to stand anywhere. Of course practically speaking the receiver will stand where he can most effectively return the service. This is generally just behind the service box in the opposite quarter to the server. Hope this clarifies this for you. Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    449 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  12. I understand that a service has to land in the rear quarter without touching any lines. In a recent game, I was receiving service and the ball clearly landed plumb on the line. I, as I was in mid stroke ready to return ball, hit the ball back to the front
    Dear Gavin You are correct that the service must land in the rear quarter without touching any lines. If it does not, the service is NOT good and the rally stops. The receiver has no option of playing it. The rally ends with the fault service. The fact that you returned the ball after the fault service is of no consequence. The rally was no longer in action. So the correct ruling is that the rally is awarded to you as a result of your opponent's fault service. Your opponent is referring to interference situations where the striker has the option of asking for a let or of continuing the rally. That is quite a different situation. With the service fault there is no option to play the ball. Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    422 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  13. Perhaps I'm too sensitive, but when playing and marking, I've become aware of many players who persistently foot-fault by stepping to the "T" too quickly during an overhead hard-hit serve (so the trailing foot is already in the air or dragged onto the line). Am I correct in thinking the receiver is entitled to appeal for a "not called foot-fault", either at the time of the service, or even at the end of the rally? Am I correct in thinking the marker (we don't have referee's in our matches) should award a LET if unsure about whether a foot-fault actually occurred?
    Certainly the receiver is entitled to appeal about any service including a foot-fault which in terms of the rules ranks the same as any other fault and can make that appeal immediately or at the end of the rally - see rule 11 "Appeals". A service needs a decision by the marker - if good he makes no call, if a fault he calls it so. Once an appeal is made the ref takes over. In your case the marker acts as marker and ref so now has to shift hats and act as the ref. As ref he can allow a let if uncertain. Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    350 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  14. I was recently frustrated by a referees decision to award a stroke against me after my serve was allowed to pass behind the body of my opponent thus "pinning" me in the service box. I was under the impression that this turning/pass behind tactic could not result in a stroke to the server? It hardly seems fair if it does, as the reciever also had room to hit the ball on the volley. It was his choice on two occasions to allow it pass behind him thus putting me in danger of being struck. I thought a let or no let were the obvious answers. Who is right? Thanks for any advise.
    I presume you mean "stroke against the server"? In which case you are correct. The referee seems to have misread the situation. The receiver, having turned, can stop and ask for a let if he thinks he may hit you with his shot. This let should be allowed providing the server has keeps out of the way of a reasonable shot. If the receiver opts to play the ball which then strikes the receiver, the stroke is awarded to the server. If the server deliberately gets in the way of the receiver's shot after turning, stroke to receiver. (If this continues to happen try changing the direction of your service so that turning is not an option.) Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    410 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  15. When serving a server moves toward the 'T'. The serve comes off the side and back wall landing in the serving box toward the middle line. The server is now in the way of the shot. Is this a let or stroke situation?
    If the receiver did not turn it is a stroke. The server must get out of the way. If the receiver turned other options apply. If receiver turned and did not play the shot asking instead for a let, the let should be allowed. If he played the ball which then hits the server a stroke is awarded to the server. Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    403 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  16. 1)While serving can i hit the side wall first and then hit the front wall? 2)While serving can i hit the first wall and before hitting the ground can it hit the side wall or the back wall?
    1) No, the ball must hit the front wall first. 2)Yes, the ball can hit a side wall or the rear wall after it has struck the front wall and before it hits the floor.
    Category: 03. The Service
    592 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  17. Having only been playing squash for a year I am learning the rules gradually as i go. In a recent match my opponent was serving such that the easiest way for me to make a return was to let it carem off both the side and back wall, turn and make my shot. At times I would have to ask for a let, as he was in the line of fire, but more times than not I had an easy shot down the opposite side wall for a win that he could not get back to. He complained that by returning his serves in this fashion I was putting him in danger, my thoughts were that if he was not serving in this manner to begin with I would not have to play this shot. (i.e. he could hit a service that I could return in the normal fashion up the same wall). Also at times if I feel he is going to serve short I will cheat toward the front of my service box and play the ball short off the front wall before it hits the side wall. This also causes complaints from my opponent. My question is are there rules (or more importantly, etiquette that stipulate how a serve must be returned). Thanks for your time
    There are no specifications how to return service. However the rules to refer to unnecessary turning and to dangerous play. I suggets you look at rules 9 and 12 in particular and rule 17. Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    357 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  18. When did the rules change so that there was no second service
    The rule came into effect on 1 May 1989.
    Category: 03. The Service
    459 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  19. what rules govern the serve for a player with only one effective arm. Can the serve be made by bouncing the ball on to the floor? Can the serve be made by bouncing the ball up from the racket? Rhanks
    For a player with one arm, the ball can be thrown up from the racket and must be hit before it touches the floor. It cannot be bounced on the floor before service.
    Category: 03. The Service
    372 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  20. Hi, Thanks for your help. I am having an argument with my mate about whether or not the ball is allowed to hit the back wall on a serve before touching the floor. ie, on the full. please tell us if this is legal as we have found rules on the net that seem to support both positive and negative. Or at least do not rule it out all together. The rules on www.squash.org appear not to allow this, am I interpreting them correctly? thanks again, cheers, Mick.
    Hi Mick. When served, the ball may hit the back wall or side wall before touching the floor. Rule 4.4.4 states 'unless volleyed by the receiver, the first bounce of the ball on the floor is in the quarter court.....' Note the words 'on the floor' which means it can hit the side wall or back wall or both.
    Category: 03. The Service
    395 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  21. How many seconds are permitted between a rally and next service? When is it considered time-wasting?
    No time is specified by the rules. Play is expected to be 'continuous'. It is up to the referee to decide when any delay is unwarranted or to long. Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    353 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  22. Thanks for a great site. As a total novice, I'm a bit unclear of the correct way to serve. Do you hit the ball on volley or does it have to bounce before hitting it?
    The ball must be hit on the volley. Either underarm or overarm. If it touches the floor, a wall, or the player's cothing before being hit is it a fault. So it must not be bounced. Pleased you enjoy the site and keep up the Squash. Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    350 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  23. When receiving serve, I occasionally stand in front of the service line or, on other occasions, move in front of the service line once my opponent has served. On these occasions I invariably play the ball before it reaches the service line and my opponent has queried whether or not this is legal. As far as I am aware it is but could you please clarify.
    This is quite legal in terms of the rules though, in my view, somewhat risky tactically. A player of experience would change his service to circumvent your ploy. Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    370 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  24. If the server strikes the ball and it is short of the opposite quarter or under the middle line in the front wall or lands in the servers quarter, does the receiver have the option to choose whether to play the the serve?
    If the service is clearly a fault, the rally is over and the Marker must call 'fault' or if there is no marker the players must stop. The receiver does not have the option to return the service as a clear fault ends the rally. If there is any doubt about the fault, the receiver can either appeal immediately or can continue the rally and appeal at the end if he loses that rally. Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    347 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  25. Can both feet be in the service box at the serve
    Yes, both feet can be in the service box but one of them, or both, must not be touching the line around the box.
    Category: 03. The Service
    357 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  26. can a person receiving a service claim let just because the ball lands on his backhand side and claims that he might hit the server though sufficient space is given for a free swing for hitting the front wall.
    The receiver can ask for a let if he thinks the server is in line of his shot to the front wall. If he had a clear shot at the front wall the appeal should be denied. If there is no referee, it is more difficult to be objective and it could be best to play a let. The fact that he wanted to play a backhand does not matter unless he "turned", which would need different rulings. Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    335 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  27. Has the rule with regards to serving only scoring changed? Is is correct that if the server loses his/her serve their opponent takes the point?
    Audrey. In standard scoring you only win a point when serving. The men professionals however use Point a Rally scoring, which means that whoever wins the rally gains a point. Stanrd scoring remains the system most used at club level and by the women professionals.
    Category: 03. The Service
    353 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  28. When the server does not touch the ball with his racket , and the ball just falls on the ground,is this considered to be a faulty serve or can the service be taken again? What if he touches the ball with his hand or body?
    Rule 4.3 makes it clear that if the server makes "no attempt" to strike the ball having launched the ball from his hand, then he serves again. However rule 4.4.3 and rule 4.5 imply that if he swings at the ball and misses then that is a fault. Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    366 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  29. Dear Sir: I am hoping for a clarification. Have read 9, 12 and 17 and still unclear.. Scenario. I am receving from the right hand box (I am left handed). Serve bounces from my side wall and off back wall without bouncing. To return I have to turn (180 degrees from my receive position) and thus possibly put the opponent between myself and the front wall. I am told this is an automatic let to ensure that no one gets hurt. Is this the case or can I return at my discretion ensuring that the opponent is not at risk of being hit. james snelling
    Dear James The only player who can request a let is the striker. So it is up to you as striker to ask for the let. There is no "automatic" let. Only if the circumstances warrant it would the decision be clearly a let. If you have turned (it sounds as if you have by rotating 180 degrees) and you are unsure where your opponent is, you would be wise to stop play and ask for a let which is then the correct decision. If you were quite sure your opponent is completely out of the way, you are quite entitled to continue with the shot Does this make it any clearer? Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    327 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  30. Hi! My girlfriend and I have been playing squash for a few weeks now... and my question is... is in our squash court... there is no glass... and the back wall is a big wall with a red line accross the half way.. we are not sure where the ball must land on a serve and during a rally... therefore, the question is: WHat are the rules for the line on the back wall? -Kyle
    Dear Kyle The redline on the back wall is the "Out" line. If the ball hits on or above this line, it is out and the striker looses that rally. In fact the ball does not often get hit hard enough to reach the out line on the back wall. I hope you are clear on the service lines and service box for serving. Enjoy your squash. Regards Don
    Category: 03. The Service
    463 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  31. What does it mean that service is to be decided by the "spin of a racket"?
    While the Rules are not specific about this, the convention is that one of the players shows the other the racket and identifies a method of distinguishing one side of the racket from the other. Often the logo on the butt of the racket suffices. The opponent then calls "up" or "down" (as in a coin toss), and the player spins the racket. As if a coin had been tossed, the winner of the call serves.
    Category: 03. The Service
    244 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  32. hi, after how many service we have to change our side?
    While you continue winning points on your service you alternate sides until you lose the serve. So the answer is one.
    Category: 03. The Service
    392 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  33. is a squash ball allowed to hit any wall before hitting the floor on the service
    On the service the ball must hit the front wall FIRST. It may hit any other wall(s) after that, as long as it lands (if allowed to land) in the correct service quadrant. If the service hits the front wall and side wall simultaneously (i.e. where the two walls meet), that is a fault because the serve did not hit the front wall first.
    Category: 03. The Service
    207 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  34. Whether the ball is "allowed to pass behind" or the receiver "physically turns" is it ALWAYS a let call? (if a 'good' return could be made, of course) No deliberate actions have been taken by either player. What if the ref says: "...why didn't you play the ball? - No let!"
    Turning usually results in a let -- unless the Referee judges that the act of turning was unnecessary and really a ploy to get out of a tight situation.
    Category: 03. The Service
    241 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  35. Why do we need a service line on the front wall? If the ball is served to the front wall and lands in the opposite back quarter, why do we need an extra line to worry about?
    Abolishing the service-line has been tried, but the overall view was that the gamem is better with the service-line.
    Category: 03. The Service
    225 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  36. Hi great site..When serving from the right hand box I try and serve just right of the imaginary centre vertical line on the back wall..this sometimes results in the serve hitting the side wall BEFORE the receivers back qtr then floor is this ok? Or does the the ball have to be in the receivers qtr before hit the wall?
    The serve must hit the front wall first, then it may hit any other wall before bouncing (if allowed to bounce) in the correct service quadrant.
    Category: 03. The Service
    185 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  37. When returning a serve does the ball have to cross the red line on the floor, as sometimes my oppenant just taps the ball back so it only just touches the back wall?
    Once the serve has been delivered correctly, the entire court is in play; there are no requirements concerning how hard a player has to hit the ball.
    Category: 03. The Service
    203 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  38. In a recent match my opponent was very quick in taking the serve, I was not in the correct position and in some cases was making my way from the front of the court with my back to the front wall, are there any rules concerning this?
    The server must not serve until the receiver is ready. However, the receiver must not delay play unduly.
    Category: 03. The Service
    189 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  39. After serving is the server allowed to move into the opposite quarter court before the opponent has hit the ball. If he is, is the opponent then entitled to be awarded a let just because the server has moved into that quarter but is not interfering with the receiver's shot.
    The server may move anywhere on court, as long as he does not interfere with the opponent's swing.
    Category: 03. The Service
    236 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  40. Hi, There are plenty of rules re. a good serve, but was discussing service reception with some mates, and we couldn't agree if there was a rule regarding where the receiver is allowed to stand when receiving a good serve. Is there a rule re where you can stand to receive serve or can you stand anywhere on the court. eg in front of short line / in the server's half court. Hope you can help Thanks Billy
    The receiver may stand anywhere as long as he or she does not interfere with the server's swing.
    Category: 03. The Service
    206 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  41. I was in a position in my game this evening where I was receiving the serve. It came off the back wall and the opponent was standing mid court directly in front of me. I hit the ball striking the opponent. The ball was going to make the front wall. The referee called a let saying you can't get a stroke off a serve which i argued profusely being a key point in the match. Should it have been a stroke? Or was the referee correct?
    A player in the way of a direct shot to the front wall loses the rally. It does not matter if this is the result of a serve or if the ball comes off the back wall.
    Category: 03. The Service
    230 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  42. while seving the ball hits the service line, is it afault or a re-serve. please reply thanks deepak
    In squash all lines are "out". In other words, a ball that hits the service-line is a fault.
    Category: 03. The Service
    227 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  43. Im getting to love squash. I am new, so i dont even know if this is a dumb question or not. QUESTION: My opponent served, the ball traveled straight to the back corner, between the back wall and the side wall, and it went dead (or it hit both wall and then went dead right after it touched the floor / or it bounced on the floor, hit the side wall, then hit the back wall and then went dead ). It did not bounce high enough of far enough for me to make a return and its impossible to return it without hitting the walls around. We are using double yellow dot Dunlop ball. He serves like this everytime we play, targets that very small corner, knowing that no one cant return his serve. And this is the reason he always wins against us. Does he get a point by that service? Is it even legal? I watch all the professional, they always go for a simple serve.
    The serve is legal -- and it is a winning shot! To prevent this from happening you would have to volley the ball.
    Category: 03. The Service
    226 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  44. The rules of the service state: "To serve a player stands with at least part of one foot on the floor within the service box." If my foot straddles the red line around the service box then logically this rule is satisfied (Part of it is touching the floor inside the box), but I have a nagging feeling that you are not allowed to touch the red line. Am I allowed to touch the red line with my 'serving foot'? Thank you.
    Your nagging doubt is correct - if any part of your foor is touching the line it's a fault. Your foot has to be in contact with the floor, wholly inside the service box.
    Category: 03. The Service
    255 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  45. When a player serve, he miss a ball and it falls on a floor. This is serves let, or lose a point?
    On the serve, if you swing at the ball and miss it, it is a fault (Hand out), and you lose the point.
    Category: 03. The Service
    72 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  46. Hi, In my game tonight I was serving from the right and moving towards the T after I served. My opponent did not turn when returning the ball, but struck me on the back, we called a let and the serve passed to him. After this happened, he then went on to do this a further two times, and seemingly attempted to do it on purpose on two further occasions. In the end, I stayed further to the right having served, but to me, his deliberate ploy of targeting me affected my usual game and gave him an advantage. What are the rules on this??
    After you have served the ball, you must give your opponent the room to make a normal swing and the entire front wall to hit to. If you move quickly across to the T and block any portion of the front wall, you are not giving your opponent "the freedom to play the ball to any part of the front wall" (Rule 12.2.4). However, it is wrong for your opponent to hit the ball, if there is a danger that you will be hit with it. The proper procedure is for the opponent (who is the striker) to call "let." If you are blocking any portion of the front wall, you lose the point. If you are not blocking any porttion of the front wall and there is a reasonable fear of injury if the opponent were to hit the ball, it is a let.
    Category: 03. The Service
    72 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  47. Hi I've been using a mobile phone application designed for squash. The question I have is that when the server loses the rally in PSA rules does the winner if the rally always serve from the right even though they received from the left? I only ask this because the application asks them to serve from the right after service changes
    When a player becomes the server, that player may serve from either the left or the right box. As long as that player retains the serve, the player must alternate boxes.
    Category: 03. The Service
    75 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  48. Hi! Am I allowed, when serving, to hit the front wall aiming the line that separates my quarter from the receiver's quarter (so no angle)? What i mean is that normally when the right-handed receiver is in the right quarter he expects to play a forehand when I serve. Is it okay if I serve along the central line and force the receiver to play a backhand. I'm aware the risk is for me to get hit by the ball and lose the point. But If I give enough space to the receiver is it okay? A friend said I'm not allowed to serve like that. I serve like a tennis player. Thanks a lot. I'm French and left -handed, I hope you understand what I mean.
    Any serve is O.K. as long as it hits the front wall above the service-line and bounces in the opposite quarter-court. It may bounce anywhere in the opposite quarter-court, as close to the middle line as you like -- as long as it does not touch the middle line.
    Category: 03. The Service
    121 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  49. An opponent has claimed that when a player is receiving a serve and lets the ball bounce around behind them on the side and then back wall, the ensuing return must be played off a side wall before it hits the front. He told me this was because it stops the ball hitting the server. It sounds a little flimsy to me...I have checked the rules but I would like confirmation please. Many thanks.
    In all situations the non-striker has an obligation to get out of the way, so that the striker may hit the ball to any part of the front wall. If the striker chooses not to take the ball early, but to let tha ball go to the back-wall before returning it, the opponent must still get out of the way of the stirker's return to the front wall. After turning on the ball, the striker does not have to hit the ball to a side-wall first. However, if the striker could play a return without turning, but turns "unnecessarily", then the striker has no right to a let.
    Category: 03. The Service
    58 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  50. Hi, how many times are you alowed to bounce the ball on the floor before serving and are you alowed to use your racket to bounce the ball on the floor before serving? Is there a time limit or bounce limit?
    I have been asked this question many times. There is no easy answer to it. It is O.K. to bounce the ball with the racket. The main criterion is this: The server may not delay play unreasonably or unnecessarily by bouncing the ball an excessive number of times. What is excessive? That is a judgement call. In my opinion 6-7 times is O.K. More than that becomes excessive and delays play unnecessarily.
    Category: 03. The Service
    16 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  51. Hi again. thanks for your help on my past questions regarding turning. I am looking for help on returning a specific serve. My buddy makes this blistering line drive style of serve- the ball just hitting above ( or sometimes on ) the red line on the front wall. Without exaggeration, it's probably going 80-100 kmph when it leaves the wall. It comes off the wall at about head height. I don't believe that I can catch it in midair to volley it back to the front. So I wait for the ball to carom off the side wall and then the back wall. I return it by boasting it up to the opposite corner , only rarely being quick enough to drive it straight back to the front wall. First. Is there anything you can offer as advice on how to better return that serve? do you have any videos on returning a line drive sort of serve? I can't find anythign on youtube. thanks. Secondly, I have noticed that the serve is often too low . however, I am not fast enough to watch it hit the wall , call it "out" and still be able to get out of it's way. I can only do one or the other but not both: if it is good and I was watching to see where it hit , then I am not watching the ball come at me. and he won't call it 'out' : he plays all his serves as if they are legal. who is supposed to call a fault on the service: the server or receiver?
    Let me start with your second question first: 1. Whenever you are playing a "friendly" game without a referee, unless both players agree about any decision, you have to play a let. There is no point in arguing, because no agreement is possible; so a let is the only possible and fair outcome. 2. In the case of a serve: If there is some doubt that the serve was good, then a let is the fair outcome. If your opponent is unwilling to call his serve a fault if it hits on or below the service-line (the correct call is "fault"), you have every right to question the serve. If your opponent does not agree that the serve was a fault, there is no point in arguing -- and a let is the only possible outcome. 3. With regard to your question about how to return a hard serve, this is a rules answering service, not a coaching clinic (!), but I would suggest that you move backwards as quickly as possible towards the centre of the court, in order to take the ball off the back wall. Or if you see that your opponent is going to hit a hard serve, you could take up a position nearer the centre of the court, so as to be able to return the serve more easily.
    Category: 03. The Service
    25 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful