World Squash RULES FAQ
Search The FAQ:
 

FAQ Index
Ask A Question


Categories:
Category: 04. Lines and things
  1. On the court I play on above the tin is a length of red wood indicating the out line. If the ball hits the front wall clearly and then drops on to the wood, is this shot classed as out?
  2. Is it a fault if the ball hits the top line surrounding the court on the serve? What about other lines on the court, are they "out" or "in"
  3. In a court where the back glass wall has no marked line, is the ball out if it strikes the upper part of the glass bouncing in a strange way, but still falling on the court?
  4. Concerning the red line at the top of the tin. At the court I play on the red line is angled so that if the ball strikes the top part it will rise steeply upwards and if it strikes other parts it will drop down. I have been told that if the ball rises up after hitting this line then it is still in play, is this true? Cheers, jon paul
  5. If my opponent makes a good return but the ball, after striking the front wall, travels downward and contacts the angled portion on the top of the tin before hitting the floor. Is the ball still live? Can I appeal for a let?
  6. In your existing FAQ's Lines & Things, point 3, refering to to the ball striking the top of the glass, what defines an 'odd' bounce, and where is the limit to the ball striking the edge of the top of the glass? I always understood that top of the glass was in (when the ball bounces into play) becasue it was too difficult to define a 'strange' bouce and was less clearly defined that the ball striking the red lines. I'd appreciate an answer please, thnks.
  7. Dear Don Our court has a glass back wall which only covers the playing area. Is the ball still in play if it bounces on top of the glass and then bounces back into play.
  8. When is a ball out? My opponent and I disagree on this topic. I think it is in until the centre of the ball touches the line, he thinks it is out if any segment of the ball is over the red line, a third view is that it depends on how much teh ball compresses as to whether the ball actually touches the line but this is impossible to gauge. Please advise us. Thanks Willie
  9. A friend i play with use a rule that i don't think is a rule. When they play they say that if you accidently return an "out" ball, that play carries on. So if i make a good return on a shot that hit the line, then after i return it i call out because it was out, does play carry on because i returned it or does he lose the point and we just stop? Say i don't call out right away because of how fast it was comming at me and after i Hit it i realize it was out.



  1. On the court I play on above the tin is a length of red wood indicating the out line. If the ball hits the front wall clearly and then drops on to the wood, is this shot classed as out?
    All courts have this piece of wood above the 'tin'. It is called the 'board'. If the ball hits the board it is indeed 'down' and therefore no longer in play.
    759 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  2. Is it a fault if the ball hits the top line surrounding the court on the serve? What about other lines on the court, are they "out" or "in"
    In squash all the lines are "out". So a service hitting the 'out' line is indeed a fault. For the internal lines for the service - service line on the front wall, half court and short line on the floor - if the ball hits any of these the service is a fault. If the server has one foot outside the service box and the other touching the line of the service box, the service is a footfault. During a rally if the ball touches the Out line or the line at the top if the board, the return is called out or down respectively.
    951 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  3. In a court where the back glass wall has no marked line, is the ball out if it strikes the upper part of the glass bouncing in a strange way, but still falling on the court?
    Yes, if the ball strikes to top of the glass then it is "out".
    571 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  4. Concerning the red line at the top of the tin. At the court I play on the red line is angled so that if the ball strikes the top part it will rise steeply upwards and if it strikes other parts it will drop down. I have been told that if the ball rises up after hitting this line then it is still in play, is this true? Cheers, jon paul
    No, not true at all. All lines in Squash are 'out', so if the ball hits the red line you lose the point. The tin line is angled in this way so that the ball will be deflected and will seen to be out.
    658 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  5. If my opponent makes a good return but the ball, after striking the front wall, travels downward and contacts the angled portion on the top of the tin before hitting the floor. Is the ball still live? Can I appeal for a let?
    All lines in Squash are 'out'. So as soon as the ball touches the top of the tin it is out of play and you win the point.
    505 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  6. In your existing FAQ's Lines & Things, point 3, refering to to the ball striking the top of the glass, what defines an 'odd' bounce, and where is the limit to the ball striking the edge of the top of the glass? I always understood that top of the glass was in (when the ball bounces into play) becasue it was too difficult to define a 'strange' bouce and was less clearly defined that the ball striking the red lines. I'd appreciate an answer please, thnks.
    On a glass back court the top of the glass is expected to be the edge of an imaginary outline. So if the ball deflects off the glass it is assumed to have hit the line so is out. A 'strange' bounce to me suggests a deflection. Regards Don
    489 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  7. Dear Don Our court has a glass back wall which only covers the playing area. Is the ball still in play if it bounces on top of the glass and then bounces back into play.
    The top of the glass should correspond with the edge of the out line. So a ball deflecting off the glass is considered to have hit the line and so is out. See appendix 2 definitions - OUT LINE. Regards Don
    603 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  8. When is a ball out? My opponent and I disagree on this topic. I think it is in until the centre of the ball touches the line, he thinks it is out if any segment of the ball is over the red line, a third view is that it depends on how much teh ball compresses as to whether the ball actually touches the line but this is impossible to gauge. Please advise us. Thanks Willie
    If the ball touches the out-line, it is out. That means that if any part of the ball touches any part of the line, it is out.
    334 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful


  9. A friend i play with use a rule that i don't think is a rule. When they play they say that if you accidently return an "out" ball, that play carries on. So if i make a good return on a shot that hit the line, then after i return it i call out because it was out, does play carry on because i returned it or does he lose the point and we just stop? Say i don't call out right away because of how fast it was comming at me and after i Hit it i realize it was out.
    As soon as the ball goes "out" the rally is over. The receiving player does not have the option to continue play.
    417 visitor(s) thought this was helpful. Do you? Yes, it was helpful No, it was not helpful




powered by Powered by Bravenet bravenet.com